home fact guests art committee
hotel reh programming dealers site
awards austin membership publications new
Donate to the Official WFC Charity World Fantasy 2006 Awards ballots were sent out as a part of Progress Report 3. All ballots must be postmarked by 30 June 2006. All ballots cast will be verified against membership lists from Madison and Tempe.

The winners are announced at the World Fantasy Convention Banquet, which will be held Saturday, November 4, 2006 at 7pm. Menu and price will be available on the Website.

All nominated material must have been published in 2005 or have a 2005 cover date. Only living persons may be nominated. When listing stories or other material that may not be familiar to all the judges, please include pertinent information such as author, editor, publisher, magazine name, and date, etc.

You may nominate up to five items in each category, in no particular order. You don't have to nonninate items in every category, but you must nominate in more than one. The items are not point-rated. The two items receiving the most nominations (except for those ineligible) will be placed on the final ballot. The remainder are added by the judges.

2006 World Fantasy Award Nominees

(final ballot covering the 2005 award year)

Judges are Steve Lockley, Barbara Roden, Victoria Strauss, Jeff VanderMeer, and Andrew Wheeler


Hal Duncan, Vellum (Macmillan; Del Rey)
Bret Easton Ellis, Lunar Park (Knopf; Macmillan)
Graham Joyce, The Limits of Enchantment (Gollancz; Atria)
Patricia A. McKillip, Od Magic (Ace)
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore (Harvill; Knopf)
Paul Park, A Princess of Roumania (Tor)


Laird Barron, 'The Imago Sequence' (Fantasy & Science Fiction, May 2005)
Michael Cunningham, 'In the Machine' (Specimen Days, Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
Joe Hill, Voluntary Committal (Subterranean Press)
Tanith Lee, 'UOUS' (The Fair Folk, Science Fiction Book Club)
Kelly Link, 'Magic for Beginners' (Magic for Beginners, Small Beer Press; Fantasy & Science Fiction, September 2005)
Simon Morden, Another War (Telos Publishing)


Peter S. Beagle, 'Two Hearts' (Fantasy & Science Fiction, Oct/Nov 2005)
Joe Hill, 'Best New Horror' (Postscripts 3, Spring 2005)
Holly Phillips, 'The Other Grace' (In the Palace of Repose, Prime Books)
Caitl'n R. Kiernan, 'La Peau Verte' (To Charles Fort, With Love, Subterranean Press)
George Saunders, 'CommComm' (The New Yorker, 08/01, 2005)


Weird Shadows Over Innsmouth ed. Stephen Jones (Fedogan & Bremer)
The Fair Folk ed. Marvin Kaye (Science Fiction Book Club)
Polyphony 5 ed. Deborah Layne and Jay Lake (Wheatland Press)
Adventure Vol. 1 ed. Chris Roberson (MonkeyBrain Books)
Nova Scotia: New Scottish Speculative Fiction ed. Neil Williamson and Andrew J. Wilson (Crescent Books)


Joe Hill, 20th Century Ghosts (PS Publishing)
Caitl'n R. Kiernan, To Charles Fort, With Love (Subterranean Press)
Kelly Link, Magic for Beginners (Small Beer Press)
Holly Phillips, In the Palace of Repose (Prime Books)
Bruce Holland Rogers, The Keyhole Opera(Wheatland Press)


Kinuko Y. Craft
James Jean
Dave McKean
Edward Miller (Les Edwards)
John Jude Palencar


Susan Allison and Ginjer Buchanan (Ace Books)
Lou Anders, Editing (Pyr)
S. T. Joshi & Stefan Dziemanowicz, Editors (Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia, Greenwood Press)
Peter Lavery (Pan MacMillan UK/Tor UK)
Chris Roberson and Allison Baker (MonkeyBrain Books)
Sean Wallace (Prime Books)


The Friends of Arthur Machen (Faunus, Machenalia, and The Life of Arthur Machen)
Leo Grin (The Cimmerian)
David Howe and Stephen Walker (Telos Books)
Jess Nevins (The Encyclopedia of Fantastic Victoriana, MonkeyBrain Books)
Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh, and Wayne MacLaurin (SF Site)
© 2005 - 2009, F.A.C.T., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Contact . Designed by Kimm Antell
World Fantasy | World Fantasy 2007